Home | About Us | Annual Competitions | Open Competition | Membership | Events | Comments | Columnists | Members work





We are an association devoted to the study of Lancashire literature, history, traditions and dialect.

Podcasts | Children's Page | Other Competitions | Contact Us | Links

LAA Competitions

The Annual Competitions are open to members only

Click here for downloadable form

Click here for latest rules

The Batty Cup: Any poem in Standard English not exceeding 100 lines.

The William Baron Cup: Flash Fiction; Short Story in Standard English not exceeding 500 words.

 Douglas Townsend Cup: Short Story in Standard English not exceeding 1500 words, beginning with this sentence: "The encounter lasted less than three minutes."

The Mercer Cup: A short story in Standard English not exceeding 1500 words.  


The LAA Writer of the Year Rosebowl is awarded to the most outstanding entry chosen independently from the winners of the Cups, and as agreed at the AGM 2018, entries submitted to any competition not run due to insufficient entries.

The Cups, Awards and Certificates are presented at the June meeting of the Association.


Back to top


Windmill, LythamWhalley AbbeyWelcome Home, FleetwoodBlackpool TowerDownham VillageDarwen TowerSt. Anne's PierEric Morecambe Statue, Morecambe